Scallop Shower Flowers!

Try saying that three times! I’m still trying to catch up from my daughter’s wedding in October and am way behind in posting some of the pics of projects I made.  I love the way the centerpieces turned out that I made for Lindsey’s shower. 

Wedding Shower Centerpiece and Favor

It was a whole lot of scallop punching, but totally worth the end result!  These cute flowers are so easy to make.  Punch out eight scallops using Stampin’ Up!’s 1-3/4″ Scallop Circle Punch (four from cardstock and four from our lighter weight Designer Series Paper). Stack them every other (cardstock, DSP, cardstock, etc.). They don’t have to be lined up perfectly, you actually get a  better effect if they are scattered every which way in the stack. Punch a hole in the center of your stack with your paper piercer and insert a brad to hold it together.  Then beginning with your top scallop just start scrunching them up towards the center, until you have done the last one on the bottom, then fluff it out. Cool huh!  I did a catrillion of these while watching my favorite reality shows on tv.  I made four centerpieces for the shower using a variety of Stampin’ Up! colors based mainly around Elegant Eggplant and Old Olive throwing in some lighter purples and vanilla. The pots were made of paper mache and purchased at my local craft store. I painted them with green acrylic paint and brushed on some gold highlights with my gold ink pad, allowed them to dry overnight and then brushed on a coat of clear modge podge to seal in the paint and dress up the pots up a bit. I then inserted a styrofoam ball into each pot and adhered the flowers to the styrofoam using sticky strip and a glue gun on a light temp. If your glue is too hot it will melt the styrofoam. In the top corner of the arrangement you will find a cute little bird that was stamped again using the Punched Potpourri stamp set and then punched out with Stampin’ Up!’s exclusive 2-Step Bird Punch. I punched two of them out and glued them back to back on a piece of wire and inserted it into the arrangement. I then added ribbon and a small bunch of glass grapes to keep up with Lindsey’s vineyard wedding theme.  We were able to use these arrangements again at the wedding on 2 tables in the entry way of the mansion reception room, one in the ladies room to dress it up a bit on the counter, and one on the gift table.

Just a little share…. 

Wedding Shower Napkins - So Vintage!

 I found these beautiful napkins for the shower also at my local craft store. They are from the Paula Deen Collection. You would think that Paula herself had coordinated with Stampin’ Up! to make these beauties! They match our Vintage Vogue stamp set which I used to make Lindsey’s shower invites and wedding invitations. See the little birds on the napkin? That’s what inspired me to add one to the centerpieces.

The prizes for the shower were made with cute little heart jars that I found at a local craft store and filled with purple M&M’s. I then stamped a heart and flower from the Punched Potpourri Level 1 Hostess stamp set and punched them out using Stampin’ Up!’s coordinating Heart and Boho Blossom punches. I adhered them with sticky strip to keep them intact. The ribbon I used is a retired Stampin’ Up! organdy ribbon I kept on hand because I love them so much. Unfortunately it is no longer available for purchase. Hint, Hint to Stampin’ Up! to please bring back the organdy ribbon!  I will be posting the wedding invitation as soon as I can get a good pic of it, so be sure to check back in later!

Published in: on November 19, 2010 at 10:44 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sherindipity.wordpress.com/2010/11/19/scallop-shower-flowers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just found your blog. Would love to win a gift pack. Can’t wait to see more of your ideas. You are so creative.

  2. Howdy! I just wish to offer you a huge thumbs up for the great
    information you’ve got right here on this post. I am coming back to your web site for more soon.


Leave a Reply

