White Christmas!

The Wow factor on this candle project is off the scale!  When I see this flower it makes me think of one my favorite movies… Dr. Zhivago.  Yeah, I know I am definitely dating myself with this one.

Shimmery White Christmas Candle

For those that remember that movie from the late 60’s, it was the ultimate love story which took place during the Russian Revolution and starred Omar Sharif and Julie Christie. One of the best scenes in the movie was the ice palace where the two lovers escaped to one winter. The entire building was frozen in ice and snow except for a few rooms.  See the pic below showing one of the rooms. Google Images is amazing for finding pics! 

Ice Palace from Dr. Zhivago

If you like old romantic movies I highly recommend you curl up with your honey  for this one (maybe while you are snowbound this winter).

Sorry, I got a little reminiscent there… now on to the flower making. I made this flower using Whisper White Card stock, but for even more impact try using Stampin’ Up!’s Shimmery White Cardstock.   I was plumb out of the Shimmery White so had to settle for Whisper White. The Shimmery White cardstock has shimmer on both sides of the page which would make these flowers all the more beautiful. The petals are made by using Stampin’ Up!’s ornament punch.  I started out with 21 petals, but if you want to add more for a fuller flower you can. You want about 1/3 of the petals to be curled slightly, 1/3 curled so they look like a U when you look from a side view, 1/3 curled considerably and 1 totally curled for the center. However, for this flower I made a small pom-pom ball from Stampin’ Up!’s silver tinsel trim for my center to make it more festive.

Shimmery White Flower Top

To curl the petals, wrap them around a stylus or paint brush handle or I use my bone folder and drag it across curling as I go as if I were curling ribbon. Then punch a 1-3/4 inch circle for the base of your flower. Begin adhering the petals by the small piece (which would be the top of the ornament) to the base circle along the edge using Sticky Strip so your petals remain in place. Begin with the least curled petals. Continue working around the circle using up all of the least curled petals and then work to the next level saving the most curled for the end.  You’ll want to make the edges of your petals overlap as you get closer to the center of your flower as this will help to lift them up and give the flower more shape.  It really doesn’t take long to make these flowers. Once you get the first one done, they will begin to flow more easily.

Since I was out of Shimmery White cardstock and wanted my flower to have more bling I took my 2-way glue pen and put glue around the edges of the petals and then sprinkled Stampin’ Up!’s Dazzling Diamonds glitter on for added sparkle!

I made this particular gift into a night light candle, but I could easily picture a whole line of them going up my staircase as Christmas decor with greenery. The base of my candle is a Ball wide mouth half pint jar from their Collection Elite Design Series (4 in a set for less than $4.00).  I didn’t even know they made these cute little things. I then placed one-half of a velcro circle dot in the bottom center of the jar and put the other half on the bottom of an LED flameless tea light so it will stay put in the jar but still allow me to pull it out and turn the switch on and off .  You can buy 24 of these tea lights at your local club store for less than $20. I then added some white crinkle shred around the candle and from the outside of the jar it looks like a real candle, but much safer. Wrap some silver tinsel trim around the edge of the jar and stamp a tag from the Bells and Boughs stamp set and you are done.  Want more ideas?  Punch your flower petals out of Real Red cardstock and make your flower into a Christmas Poinsettia and fill your jar with candy or fudge.  Or just use your flower as a beautiful bonus to your wrapped Christmas package instead of ribbon.  They would also make great wedding favors. The list is endless!

Supplies:  Stamp Set:  Bells and Boughs, Cardstock:  Whisper White; Ink:  Marina Mist; Accessories:  Ornament Punch, 1-3/4″ Circle Punch, Oval Scallop Punch; Silver Tinsel Trim, Sticky Strip, 2-way Glue, Stylus or Bone Folder, Sticky Strip and Dazzling Diamonds Glitter.

 
Published in: on December 7, 2010 at 11:31 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sherindipity.wordpress.com/2010/12/07/white-christmas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s amazing that rose is not real. You are so talented. It’s simply beautiful.

  2. Gorgeous, just gorgeous!!!


Leave a Reply

