A Perfect Shade of Blue and Blog Candy!

A Perfect Shade of Blue Daisy

Blue Daisies! Only in the papercrafting world can you make any shade of flower that you want! LOL! I had been wanting to use Stampin’ Up!’s new Paper Daisies in the IB&C and decided what better way than to pair it up with the new Botanical Gazette Designer Series Paper in the Mini Occasions catalog. This card was part of a Baggie Sampler that I created for my Sherindipity Stampers group meeting in January showcasing products from the new Mini Catalog and the Sale-A-Bration Catalog.  The paper daisy was so easy to color! I used my Marina Mist marker and colored a little on each petal and then used my aqua painter to spread the color around. Use only a small amount of water with your aqua painter – do not soak your flower!  I dried it quickly using my heat tool. Repeated the process to  get a little tie-dye effect going on.  You can also color the daisy by placing a few drops of one of the reinkers into a small dish with some water and paint it on with your aqua painter.  But you don’t get as much control this way on how the color turns out I thought.  Any way you do it, it’s pretty easy. I then splattered some ink on the flower using my color spritzer tool and a marker to make it look real. I also folded up each petal for more definition.  I used the Punch Bunch from Sale-A-Bration to make the center of my flower.  Use markers on the stamp so you can color each section of the stamp. Don’t forget to huff on the ink to rewet it before stamping! The cute little hearts also express the perfect shades of blue too!

Supplies:  Stamp Set:  Nature Walk and Punch Bunch; Cardstock:  Very Vanilla, Early Espresso and Marina Mist; Designer Series Paper:  Botanical Gazette; Ink:  Early Espresso and Marina Mist; Accessories:  Heat Tool, Aqua Painter, 1-3/8″ Scallop Circle Punch, Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack, Itty Bitty Buttons, Linen Thread, Color Spritzer Tool, Early Espresso, Old Olive and Marina Mist Stampin’ Write Markers, Stampin’ Dimensionals, and Paper Daisies.

Easter Blooms - # 122057 Clear Mount/#121905 Wood Mount

BLOG CANDY!!!

Do you have a favorite shade of daisy?  Leave a comment below letting me know your favorite shade to win some blog candy shown here!  Check back on Friday for the winner! It is the stamp set featured in yesterday’s post – Easter Blooms.  I received this clear mount stamp set as a prize at Leadership, but I already have it in wood mount. Do you want to be the lucky recipient?

I prefer wood mount stamps myself.  I’ve been using them for 12 years – it’s hard to teach an old dog new tricks. I just prefer the feel of wood in my hand.  But Stampin’ Up! now offers you a choice between the two styles of stamps that they offer. Clear mounts are great if you don’t have alot of storage space. They fit on a shelf just like your DVD’s.  The images are not attached to anything. When you are ready to use them, you just mount the image on a clear block and stamp away.  They also sell the empty clear mount stamp cases in a set of 4 for $4.95 (Item #119105). Watch for a new class I will be offering on how you can use the empty cases later this week!

Published in: on February 23, 2011 at 10:45 am  Comments (14)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sherindipity.wordpress.com/2011/02/23/a-perfect-shade-of-blue-and-blog-candy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This looks like a great thing to learn at one Technique Tuesday classes! I like the look of color done this way.

    • Carol, I will definitely add that to my techniques list! Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. I like purple daisies 🙂
    Thanks for the chance to win, awesome stamp set! I’ve been eyeballing it for awhile now 🙂

    Brittani

    Nicki121986@hotmail.com

    • Thanks for commenting Brittani! My favorite color is purple – I will have to try that one – would make a lovely Spring card!

  3. Yes, it’s a perfect shade of blue and it’s a perfect card. I love the card and enjoyed making one like it. I love your work!

  4. I already have the set, so the blog candy should go to someone else. I just want to say that I think the card is beautiful! I love what you did with the daisy. It was great idea to use it on a larger card! I’m thinking I’d like to try a black eyed susan, which are so popular here in Maryland.

  5. I made a feminine Get Well card this week featuring the paper daisies and it turned out so gorgeous! I used the Champagne Mist Paint and sponged the paint on the petals for a beautiful shimmer and finished it with an antique brad. Then I added the crochet ribbon trim at the bottom of the card using sticky strip and bunched it. I am very happy how it turned out. It is also in shades of blue and brown 🙂

    Sherahl – I will bring it to show you tomorrow at the card class.

    PS – this Spring stamp set is on my wishlist 🙂 I have seen so many beautiful cards using this set!

  6. Oh – I forgot to tell you my favorite daisies are white and yellow – they were my wedding flowers along with sunflowers. My 10 year wedding anniversary will be this August!

  7. Thanks Shawn! I am also a fan of your work as well. Lynne, thanks so much as well. I would love to see you do a Black-Eyed Susan with these flowers. I would so CASE your card! And Jaime – I can’t wait to see your card at class tomorrow – it sounds very pretty!

  8. I think green daisys would make a nice springtime page.

  9. I love your card! I think a red daisy would be lovely…something different than a red rose!

  10. I like white daisys.Love your blog! thank you , Peggy Bell peggydiannebell@yahoo.com

  11. Love all the colors everyone suggested! Will have to try them soon! Watch for blog candy announcement on Monday!

  12. I love shades of Burgandy/Maroon and think your card is absolutely delightful. I like others have been eyeing off this beautiful set. Thank you for the inspiration.


Leave a Reply

