Rember the Soldiers this Holiday Season!

My neighbor, Jillian, recently approached me about a citizenship project she was doing with her son, Cooper’s, kindergarten class and asked me if I could come up with something we could do for the soldiers overseas. While away at retreat last weekend I came up with an easy card idea that all the kids could do and Jillian took them into her son’s class this week to complete. My daughter, Lindsey, who’s husband, Jake, has been to Iraq twice and once to Afghanistan gave me the name of a soldier in her husband’s unit we could send them to. It was very heartwarming to see what the kids drew and wrote in their cards for Scott. The teacher also asked them if there was anything else they wanted to add the inside of the cards so that is her writing in the top inside of each card.  My card is pictured above and you can check out the kids’ cards in a slide show below.  It was an inspiring project for us all. We also sent a couple of boxes filled with goodies for Scott to share with his buddies! Jillian and I definitely want to try this again. If you would like to send a holiday card to Scott or members of his unit, I am sure they would be delighted to get even more! Please leave me your e-mail in the comment section below and I would be happy  to forward you his address.  Aren’t the kids’ cards just adorable!  Each one of them put the stars in different places on the cards – too cute! Jillian and I couldn’t stop aaaawwwwing with each one we read.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Supplies: 

Kids’ Card – Cardstock:  Real Red and Brushed Gold; Accessories:  Large and small star punches (retired), “Hero” Stampin’ Around Jumbo Wheel, Stampin’ Around Jumbo Wheel Handle, Basic Black Jumbo Ink Cartridge and Glue Stick.

My Card:  This was a card I made last year for my display and some of the products used in the making of this card are now retired, but there are similar ones in the new catalog that can be substituted. Not sure of the substitute – leave a comment below and I will let you know which product).  Stamp Set:  Courage and the dove stamp from A Wish for Peace (retired) and Itty Bitty Backgrounds; Cardstock:  Old Olive and Very Vanilla;  Ink:  Real Red, Brilliant Blue (retired), Old Olive, and Creamy Caramel (retired); Accessories:  Gold Brads, Stampin’ Sponges, “Hero” Stampin’ Around Jumbo Wheel, Stampin’ Around Jumbo Wheel Handle, Jumbo Old Olive Cartridge (retired), and Aqua Painter.

Published in: on November 19, 2011 at 4:04 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sherindipity.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/rember-the-soldiers-this-holiday-season/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Sherahl, this is wonderful! Such an inspiring project and a great way for the children to remember our soldiers. So heartwarming.


Leave a Reply

